Gig Review: Volume Conflict at ROAR

Volume Conflict

In the good old USA, it seems that the ‘Hard Rock’ bands are an established part of the Rock scene. Bands like Seether, Three Days Grace, Breaking Benjamin, Stone Sour, Papa Roach, Shinedown and many more seem to be commonplace. With song structures that lean towards the more accessible pop music world juxtaposed by distorted guitars rooted in alternative rock and metal, the versatility of the genre generally garners popularity fairly easily – and is indeed the entry point into “heavier” music for many misunderstood teenagers (surely no one can listen to Linkin Park forever?). This is a genre that, with the ascencion of all the “core” genres – post hardcore and metalcore in particular – that seems to be relatively untouched in the local scene.  That is, with the exception of Volume Conflict.

Volume Conflict. Not just the description of how my ears feel whenever they see my earphones and iPod. These boys are a Hard Rock band (in the true sense of the word) from Port Elizabeth (yes, you read that right). There’s a lot to be interested in when hearing about these lads. There’s an incredible tale of hope and perseverance, there’s a sound unlike anything South Africa’s heard since Saron Gas – something that could admittedly be taken as either positive or negative. There’s also the reality that this humble collective are some of the nicest guys that you’d ever meet! But, this is about the music and, as one of the first local bands added to the Ozone playlist, the wait to see them live had been almost a year in the making. Having missed them at Rock The River, I headed out to ROAR curious…and amped!

 

I was expecting a band similar to those mentioned above, with an “edge” but still one that tended closer to Seether than good old Saron Gas. The last time I was this wrong was when I expected the Springbok Nude Girls to be strippers! Volume Conflict are what I wish Seether had become – and I enjoyed their show as much as any other I’ve seen. It was great to see something different in the local scene, a true fusion of “pop” structures wrapped tightly in rock and metal. There was not a “weak” moment, not a note out of place – a truly polished performance. I enjoyed each track, and left upset that I didn’t already have some of the new ones. Each track was delivered with true passion, genuinely heartfelt angst and emotion which – to me anyway – elevates music. Personally, I am a fan of a well-placed scream in hard rock, and VC delivered just that! Their energy was great to watch as well, particularly their bass player, who would probably explode if nailed down!

These boys are undoubtedly a band to keep an eye on, and an absolute must to catch live. Yes, they’re playing a style of Rock/Metal that isn’t the “in” thing right now, but that doesn’t detract from what they do – passionate, raw, honest hard rock. They’re firmly established as one of my favourite local bands, and they should be one of yours too! I can’t wait for an album, another tour and eventually only getting to see VC once or twice a year, because they’re not in South Africa anymore. True, no one knows what the future holds, but when that happens…you read it here first.

2 thoughts on “Gig Review: Volume Conflict at ROAR

  1. Great review and accurate assessment of what I have come to know of these guys!

    I first heard VOLUME CONFLICT about 2 years ago on Roadrunner Records “SignMeTo” demo submission site and they blew me away! Not only are they passionate in their performance, but they are also very serious about what they do. On SignMeTo, the intention was to gain attention from RRR A&R as well as Scouts from other members of the site. Not only did they get extremely positive feedback from nearly every visitor, these guys would go a step further and seek follow up feedback whenever a Scout noted something less than perfect so as to improve their craft that much more.

    I have the greatest respect for VOLUME CONFLICT’s dedication to their sound and writing. They sincerely put their heart out there and take pride in each and every note and each and every word of their lyrics. Simply a great band whose album is in constant rotation in my i-Pod!!!

  2. I can only agree 100%, I met this bunch of guys a few weeks back and they are truelly blessed with the talent they have together with such great individual personalities. I was played some of their music and was really impressed, coming from someone who has never been into hard rock, after listening to their music I would definitely attend any concert they played at. I knew when I met them that I had infact met a group whom I have witnessed and had the priveledge of getting to know that will rise to the top very soon.

What do you think? Fire away....

